Why the Money Talk?

And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.”

I don’t know, I don’t want to worry about “tomorrow”. And equally, I don’t think discomfort for its own sake is edifying. Am I doing either of these, or am I trying to follow Peter’s example of faith in following Jesus?

Not a nebulous faith. I mean faith that’s not about the mysterious future working the way we want it (because surely God will grant our every wish) but about knowing that by choosing to stick to what God says no matter how difficult, no matter how radically it changes what we do, we are doing the best thing.

I think God wants me to become a better giver in the long term. For now, though, I have to do what I can to help my parents be able to give more.

God has commands, examples, a perfect vision. Faith’s about this, not about abandoning responsibility, and refusing to think about things, for the purpose of “trusting” God.

Faith is faith that God is not insane even when His instructions appear to be, because He’s the sanest one here. Faith is faith that God is not foolish even when the cross appears to be, because He’s wiser than the wisest one here.

The Lord has promis’d good to me,
His word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

But one question is, do I become more transformed toward the likeness of Christ if I act upon my deliberations about money, or political duty, or whatever? Or do I instead get caught in a mire of no fruit?

Leave a Reply

