Learning for its own sake? Rubbish.

Universities are for learning, and learning should be good for the soul. Some may believe that I am in favour of learning for its own sake, but this is far from the truth. I could see, however, how easy it is to make this mistake, because I appear to love learning with less impatience to move on to application before I have fully gone through the explanation. In truth, though, my goals are entirely different: I believe in learning for wisdom and virtue, not just in taking a single field’s received knowledge but in wrestling with life’s complexities in truth. Without truth, after all, “practicality” is a lie. And is practice not life itself?

For life, we need truth. For truth, we need learning. For learning, we need inquiry of what is unknown and transmission of what is known: research and teaching. Universities are meant to do these things, and when I have been churned out of this system, I hope my course of study will have taught me to “think God’s thoughts after Him”, and to seek and gain His wisdom and righteousness.

As in all things, all spheres of this sacred life, glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Ghost, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Leave a Reply

