How to Interpret so that One Can Apply

I do not fear laying aside peripheral details for a time as a way to focus on the fullness of the main point; I do greatly fear making or allowing distortions within the main point, at least in approaching texts with a claim of truth.

Or, to put it metaphorically: I am willing to leave any stained glass windows for later, but I am not willing to put off dealing with problems with the foundation or cracks in the flying buttresses.

Part of my philosophy of reading non-fiction carefully and accurately.

Leave a Reply

