Public Reading of Scripture

Dan Phillips writes about the public reading of Scripture, drawing on the exhortation in I Timothy 4.13 to devote ourselves to the public reading of Scripture, as well as to exhortation and teaching (in the pulpit, in songs &c.). He’s right that, compared to preaching, sacrament and corporate prayer, public Scripture reading gets relatively short shrift.

I wish that Scripture reading took more prominent place in CFC’s order of worship. Right now, if I asked anyone to name the sequence of things done in worship on Sundays, I think no one would name public Scripture reading among those things. Liturgy, liturgy, liturgy. Everyone has a lot to improve.

2 responses to “Public Reading of Scripture

  1. Hi, Sorry to post a random comment, but you said you were able to move your xanga to wordpress with one click. I’ve found a few apps, but all break. I even tried my own scripts to no avail. Would you be so kind as to share which tool and process worked for you? I’m curious to know if it’s one of the ones I’ve tried or you found something I may have overlooked.

    Thanks a bunch.

    Nicely laid out site by the way….

    ARod…

    Like

Leave a Reply

