Magdalene Kirk

Let the Church, whose name is Jerusalem, stand in the place of Mary Magdalene and the woman from the Song of Songs:

Now on the first day of the week Mary Magdalene came to the tomb early, while it was still dark, and saw that the stone had been taken away from the tomb.

Vadam et circuibo civitatem:
I will rise now, and go about the city:
per vicos et plateas quaeram
in the streets and in the broad ways I will seek
quem diligit anima mea;
him whom my soul loveth;
quaesivi illum, et non inveni.
I sought him, but I found him not.

But Mary stood weeping outside the tomb, and as she wept she stooped to look into the tomb. And she saw two angels in white, sitting where the body of Jesus had lain, one at the head and one at the feet. They said to her, ‘Woman, why are you weeping?’ She said to them, ‘They have taken away my Lord, and I do not know where they have laid him.’ Having said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing, but she did not know that it was Jesus. Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you seeking?’

Adiuro vos, filiae Jerusalem,
I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem,
si inveneritis dilectum meum,
if ye find my beloved,
ut annuntietis ei quia amore langueo.
that ye tell him, that I am sick with love.

Supposing him to be the gardener, she said to him, ‘Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away.’

Qualis est dilectus tuus,
What is thy beloved more than another beloved,
quia sic adiurasti nos?
that thou dost so charge us?
Dilectus meus candidus et rubicundus,
My beloved is white and ruddy,
electus ex milibus.
the chiefest among ten thousand.
Talis est dilectus meus,
This is my beloved,
et est amicus meus,
and this is my friend,
filiae Jerusalem.
O daughters of Jerusalem.
Quo abiit dilectus tuus,
Whither is thy beloved gone,
o pulcherrima mulierum?
O thou fairest among women?
Quo declinavit? et quaeremus eum tecum.
whither is thy beloved turned aside? that we may seek him with thee.

Jesus said to her, ‘Mary.’ She turned and said to him in Aramaic, ‘Rabboni!’ (which means Teacher).

Ascendit in palmam, et apprehendit fructus eius.
He will go up to the palm tree, and take hold of the fruit thereof.

And when he had said these things, as they were looking on, he was lifted up, and a cloud took him out of their sight.

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month.

The mandrakes give forth fragrance,
 and at our gates are all choice fruits,
new as well as old,
 which I have laid up for thee, O my beloved.

‘You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you.’

Leave a Reply

