My Taste v. The Good

Don’t know how I can distinguish between what I like and what’s good?

I like this, but I know it’s not good for public worship. Nothing personal, you know. Because things are good for something, and the Sister Act ‘I Will Follow Him’ is just not right for the purpose – although I remember singing this song a few times for church many years ago.

Likewise, there must be plenty of hymns that are good but that I just don’t ‘connect’ with. This is perfectly all right, and I don’t have to insist on my own favourites if I know the choices are right for God’s public worship and emotionally and intellectually edifying to someone – just as it’s edifying to me to bear with a hymn I don’t like.

There may be the adage de gustibus non est disputandum, but ‘“Taste is relative” is the excuse adopted by those eras that have bad taste.’

Leave a Reply

