Contra Mundum

John Hobbins on Ron Hendel allowing his Society of Biblical Literature membership to lapse: ‘Wait a second. I want Ron Hendel in the SBL tent pissing out, not outside the tent pissing in.’ Just the way I operate, it seems: stay in and piss out when I think I need to. As some know, I’m not in the habit of leaving churches.

Then again, I’ve never had a big-enough spat with pastors or congregation members to actually want to leave. I’m not Athanasius, after all, who stood against the world.

Leave a Reply

