Let Me Die

‘If at twenty-four I am such a person, it is better that I die.’ Or it is better still that I become a better person now; and that is a death of its own, for I must continue to die to myself in order to live to Christ, and I must listen and see what I profess the desire to know, and here my claims and despair must die.

Ô Maître, que je ne cherche pas tant à être consolé qu’à consoler, à être compris qu’à comprendre, à être aimé qu’à aimer, car c’est en donnant qu’on reçoit, c’est en s’oubliant qu’on trouve, c’est en pardonnant qu’on est pardonné, c’est en mourant qu’on ressuscite à l’éternelle vie.

Leave a Reply

