I Imagine Making Love Is a Prayer

Our Father which art in heaven, hallowed be thy Name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive them that trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.

I cannot be everything for my wife, and so, for all the times on the morrow when I cannot see her, when she must live beyond the reach of my hand, I must commend her to God – my sweet lady, the dearest gift my Lord hath given me. O hide us now in the crag of the rocky face! And there, within the bosom of the Father, resting in Christ, let us be free to be simply ourselves. The tender breeze of the summer evening caresses our faces as we hear the gentle flapping of angels’ wings, and there we are, safe in the sight of God, and of each other. And they were naked and unashamed.

Leave a Reply

