Coveting the Praise of Men

O Lord, how I crave the attention, affection, and approbation of those I deem excellent! See how I count the count the love of God a mere consolation prize, and see how I, the unworthy, deem the worthiest unworthy of my highest attention. It is said, Thou shalt not covet; but I am a covetous man. And how great is Christ Jesus, to whom I can barely aspire; who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God, but made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men. I who would be justified by men, can I not see how Christ was justified by God, and how greatly I am favoured to be justified in him? But it is so.

Leave a Reply

