Aside

My Responsibility, His Responsibility

Jake Belder says about recognizing the human limits of preaching and trusting the Holy Ghost,

One of the things I have had to learn as a preacher is that there are limits to what I can say. And that, I think, is what I need to recognise in this case as well. Here is a simple truth, and as a preacher I am just called to point to Jesus as the one who satisfies all our deepest longings and desires, and to let the Holy Spirit go to work in the hearts of the hearers to convict them of that reality. I can only say so much, and need to believe that through the power of the Spirit, those who are listening will grasp the fullness of what is being offered as Jesus is held out to them.

Check it out. Discuss.

Leave a Reply

